Skip to content

Grab that Bag!

July 27, 2009

Since I seem to always be on the go, I have started a writing bag. First, I started with the prettiest bag that I could find. It had to have nice pockets inside and out, a zipper, long straps, and be tall enough for my notebook and for my laptop to slide down into it as well. It had to be roomy on the inside so that I could fit all of my “must-haves” inside comfortably. What are my must-haves you ask? Let me  share.

  • Pens (Blue ink, please.)
  • Book, Writer Mama
  • Book, Writer’s Market 2010
  • Post-it Notes
  • Highlighters
  • Folders of printed guidelines and works in play
  • Small digital camera

As I get ready to travel, I add my laptop, iPod, and my writing notebook.  With these things, I am ready to go. I can escape for a quick writing adventure on my back porch, a weekend trip to the lake or an extended RV trip. Whenever I start out, I make sure to grab my bag.

Just this week, my family is on an RV trip. My family all knew to make sure that we did not forget my writing bag. They knew it would not be a good trip if that bag got left behind. I am sure you have all heard the saying, “If Mama ain’t happy, then nobody is happy.” Traveling on the road this week, my bag has been such a source of inspiration and comfort. I know when I catch a glimpse of it’s bright, friendly pattern what treasures it holds inside. All of my ideas, plans, and dreams. I know that it will travel well.

Do you have a writer’s bag? If so, what do you keep inside?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Robyn permalink*
    July 30, 2009 11:12 am

    Dawn – Thanks so much for your visit and your comment. I forgot the umbrella! That’s a good thing to add as well.

    Thanks!
    Robyn

  2. July 29, 2009 7:51 pm

    I keep a bag stocked with 5 subject notebook, The Writer, Poets and Writers, library book or other writing book, pens, highlighters, and umbrella. I plan to purchase a slimmer bag since the one I have is a bit bulky. I put it in the car whenever I go out so I’m always prepared.

    Dawn Herring
    JournalWriter Freelance
    writing in genres of memoir, essay, devotional, humor, fiction, and poetry.
    http://www.journalwriter.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

